Preserving the History of the Hiram M. Chittenden Locks in Seattle, Washington

Contact us at friendsofthelocks@gmail.com

2017 Centennial List Of Events and Summer Concerts

A text version list of summer events and concerts will be posted shortly. You can click on the schedule image below and either enlarge onscreen for better legibility or download it to your computer and print it out. This document is 11x17 (tabloid size).

Dates and times are subject
to change without notice!
For more information visit www.nws.usace.
army.mil/locks100 or other organization’s
events visit www.makingthecut100.org.




OR ...

follow this link to view a larger version on the US Army Corps of Engineers Site,

OR ...

Here is an all text version which hopefully can be used by text readers.

May - National History Month

5th Friday, May 5 @ 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Great info for Opening Day of Boating Season

Friends of the Ballard Locks, History Month
6th Saturday, May 6 @ 1-3 p.m.
Chat with a Historian, Good/Bad Fish Kid’s Game

Friends of the Ballard Locks, History Month
7th Sunday, May 7 @ 10 a.m.-3 p.m.
Children’s Build a Toy Boat 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Meet the SS Roosevelt model builder and Chat with a
Historian 1-3 p.m.

Discover Your Northwest Centennial 5K, Kids Dash 7th Sunday, May 7 @ 9 a.m.
5K run and 10 & Under Kids Dash

Friends of the Ballard Locks, History Month
20th Saturday, May 20 @ 1-3 p.m.
Chat with a Historian

Celebrating 100 Years of Community Gardening
21st Sunday, May 21 @ Noon-4 p.m.
Gardening displays, information from Carl S.
English Botanical Garden, local gardens & clubs

Friends of the Ballard Locks, History Month
21st Sunday, May 21 @ Noon-3 p.m.
Chat with a Historian 1-3 p.m.
Children learn to play ukulele w/STRUM Noon-2 p.m.

Boeing Employees Concert Band
28th Sunday, May 28 @ 2 p.m.
Lively Marches, Show Tunes and Classics




June

Barneleikarringen
4th Sunday, June 4 @ 2 p.m.
Children’s Scandinavian Dance

Tango at the Locks
4th Sunday, June 4 @ 3:30-7 p.m.
Tea dance, watch and learn to Tango

Highline Community Symphonic Band
11th Sunday, June 11 @ 2 p.m.
Variety of Classical Concert Music

Fisheries Day
17th Saturday, June 17 @ 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Highlight Fisheries and Salmon

Cascadia Big Band
17th Saturday, June 17 @ 2 p.m.
Post-swing Big Band

Classic Car Show
18th Father’s Day - Sunday, June 18 @ 10 a.m.-3 p.m.
Cars of the 20s, 30s and 40s

Sound & Fury Morris and Sword
18th Father’s Day - Sunday, June 18 @ Noon
Street Dance Performance Tradition

Elliott Bay Pipe Band
18th Father’s Day - Sunday, June 18 @ 2 p.m.
Traditional Pipe and Drum Music

Eastside Modern Jazz
24th Saturday, June 24 @ 2 p.m.
Latin, Funk, Jazz-Rock fusion & Cont. Jazz

Kirkland Civic Orchestra
25th Sunday, June 25 @ 2 p.m.
Classical and Pop Music

Military & First Responder Appreciation Day
30th Friday, June, 30 @ 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Celebration of U.S. Military and Veterans





July


The Professor Gadget Sax Quartet
1st Saturday, July 1 @ 2 p.m.
An ad-hoc collection of saxophone players

85th Street Big Band
2nd Sunday, July 2 @ 2 p.m.
30s, 40s and 50s Swing Favorites

KNKX, Discover Your Northwest Jazz Festival
3rd Monday, July 3 @ 1-5 p.m.
Live-Music Jazz Festival

Discover Your Northwest ‘Dance for a View’
3rd Monday, July 3 @ 5-9 p.m.
1900 to the 1920s theme

Hiram M. Chittenden Locks Centennial Ceremony 4th of July - Tuesday, July 4 @ 10 a.m.
Official Centennial Ceremony

Seattle Civic Band
4th of July - Tuesday, July 4 @ 2 p.m.
Rousing Selection of Patriotic Music

High Class Brass Quintet
5th Wednesday, July 5 @ 6 p.m.
Patriotic Marches and Pop Music

The Jazz Pearls
6th Thursday, July 6 @ 2 p.m.
Lively Jazz

Ballard Sedentary Sousa Band
7th Friday, July 7 @ 2 p.m.
Greatest Marching Band Hits

Greenwood Concert Band
8th Saturday, July 8 @ 2 p.m.
Marches and Music for Bands

Puget Sound Daylily Club Flower Show
9th Sunday, July 9 @ 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Historic Boat Parade
9th Sunday, July 9 @ 11 a.m.-2 p.m.
Historic Boat Parade to Lake Union

The Thornton Creek Clarinet Choir
9th Sunday, July 9 @ 2 p.m.
Classic and pop music by clarinetists of all ages

The MoodSwings
15th Saturday, July 15 @ 2 p.m.
All-female Big Band Jazz ensemble

West Seattle Big Band
16th Sunday, July 16 @ 2 p.m.
Big Band Swing and Jazz

Musica Molida
22nd Saturday, July 22 @ 2 p.m.
Street Organ Music

Making the Cut Songwriting Contest
22nd Saturday, July 22 @ 4:30 p.m.
CD Release concert from contest

Greenwood Concert Band
23rd Sunday, July 23 @ 2 p.m.
Marches and Music for Bands

Sound & Fury Morris and Sword
24th Monday, July 24 @ 7 p.m.
Street Dance Performance Tradition

Greater Seattle Fuchsia Society Show
29th Saturday, July 29 @ 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Letter Carriers & FOE Band
29th Saturday, July 29 @ 2 p.m.
Concert Music

Coal Creek Jazz Band 30th Sunday, July 30 @ 2 p.m.
Traditional Dixieland Jazz










August

Batucada
5th Saturday, August 5 @ 2 p.m.
Brazilian Samba, Chorus and Forro

Ballard Sedentary Sousa Band
6th Sunday, August 6 @ 6 p.m.
Greatest Marching Band Hits

Horseless Carriage Car Show
12th Saturday, August 12 @ 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Pre-1950s automobiles

Pacific Cascade Big Band
12th Saturday, August 12 @ 2 p.m.
Swing Era Jazz, early 1930s to late 1950s

MachOne Jazz Orchestra
13th Sunday, August 13 @ 2 p.m.
Big Band to Contemporary Jazz

Splash! Art at the Locks
17th Thursday, August 17 @ 6-8 p.m.
Discover Your Northwest Art Exhibit

Microsoft Jumpin’ Jive Orchestra
19th Saturday, August 19 @ 2 p.m.
Jazz Music

Around the Sound Band
20th Sunday, August 20 @ 2 p.m.
Famous Marches, Movies and Show Tunes

Lynnwood Community Band
26th Saturday, August 26 @ 2 p.m.
Non-profit Community Band

The Tempos
27th Sunday, August 27 @ 2 p.m.
Lively Big Band Music

September


STRUM
2nd Saturday, September 2 @ 2 p.m.
Seattle’s Totally Relaxed Ukulele Musicians

Michael Clune & Sleep till Noon Band
4th Monday, September 4 @ 2 p.m.
Contemporary Blues & Rock

Ballard Civic Orchestra
16th Saturday, September 16 @ 2 p.m.
Celebrating Hispanic Cultural Heritage

October

Seattle Thrillers
21st Saturday, October 21 @ 2 p.m.
Zombies at the Locks!